Lions of Alberta Foundation was created to facilitate a body of individuals to unite the Lions Clubs of Alberta to better serve the communities of our province. The Board of Directors that governs this Foundation are representative of all the Lions clubs in Alberta. Where one individual club might not have the resources to full fill a project on its own, with the assistance of L.O.A.F. that project might become a possibility with the assistance of other clubs in the province.
With the ability to issue Tax Deductible Receipts (TDR) the Foundation assists Lions Clubs within the Multiple District to help raise funds for Canadian community projects

Lions of Alberta Foundation (L.O.A.F.) was created in 1980 as a supervisory and directive body, approved January 05, 1981, by the Province of Alberta, to form a society to serve the Lions Clubs of Alberta.

Every club, in good standing within Alberta is a member of the Foundation. Any Lion in good standing, in a club in good standing can be voted onto the board of the Foundation. Each club has one vote at the Annual General Meeting, which is held in the fall of the year. Special meetings of the Foundation are held several times either in person or via Zoom, as business dictates.


L.O.A.F. held their annual meeting on October 15th, 2023, at the Sylvan Lake Lion's Den. Twenty-four Lions were in attendance.

Chair Betty Ann handed out the Director’s Handbook. This handbook contained the newly approved Bylaws of the Foundation, applications for the Fellowships and Scholarships that the Foundation handles

The business of the foundation was attended to, and a new board of directors was elected.

The Executive for 2023-2024 is:


PCC Betty Ann Robson       

Past Chairperson

PCC Tom Hodgson

Vice Chairperson

PCC Tyler Bray


Lion Terri Robson


PDG Melodie Franko           

Finance Chairperson

PCC Dennis Stevenson       


C1 Reps

Lion Derwin Bartlett


Lion Jack Riley

C2 Reps

PCC Tyler Bray


PDG Leslie Storch


Board of Directors


1-year Director

Francis Liu


Kathryn MacKenzie


Barb Riley


Frances Sawiak


Anne Kennedy


Darryl Rawleigh


Suzanne Leshchyshyn


Greg Holmes


Chris Howells

2-year Director

Les Storch


Vi Gibb


Bob Booth


Ted Mikkelson


Terry O’Callahan


Thomas Cheuk


Lion Bruce Paterson


Lion Peter Braithwaite


Fellowship and Scholarship Information can be obtained from the following Lions and/or any of the above directors.

Bill Webber Fellowship for Sight

PDG Melodie Franko

Dr Jack Dobush Fellowship for Diabetes

PCC Dennis Stevenson

CNIB Jack and Denise Isaman Fellowship

CNIB Edmonton

Dr Greg Powell/STARS

PCC Betty Ann Robson

Dr Patti Hill Fellowship for Lions Eye Research Fund

PDG Kris Kozoriz

Lions Legacy Scholarships

PID Bill Webber

LOAF Sight Fund

PDG Melodie Franko

LOAF Bursary Application

Lion Bob Booth


Next board meeting is scheduled Spuce View Recreation Centre October 26 10:00 a.m.

There will be a LOAF display at the District Conventions in January and February, stop by and have a look and we will answer questions that you may have.

Donations should be made Payable to:

"Lions of Alberta Foundation"
and mailed to:


c/o PDG Melodie Franko
PO Box 2716, Station Main
Stony Plain  AB  T7Z 1Y2


Lions Clubs International is the world's largest service club organization with more than 1.4 million members in approximately 46,000 clubs in more than 200 countries and geographical areas around the world.

Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online