District Awards and Honors

Ralph Lynam Award

The Ralph A. Lynam Award is presented to a club president who has done outstanding work in the club, district, and state. A letter of nomination listing the president's accomplishments for the year should be sent to the District Governor or the Immediate Past District Governor by December 31 of the calendar year in which the president's term ends.

Membership Award

Membership Awards will be presented to the top four clubs in the district with the highest membership growth.


State Awards

S.A. Dodge Award

The S.A. Dodge Award is presented to two Lions each year at the MD11 State Convention. The award is for distinguished service at the district, state, and international levels of the Lions organization. This honor has been bestowed upon the following District 11-C2 Lions:

J.E. Richardson                   Ralph Lynam

Budd Goodwin                     Eugene Fisher

Russell Steffens                   Ray DeWitt

Ben Simon                           K.C. Conarton

Frank Cutler                         A. Charles Weir

Bill Hanel                              Richard Foust

Gene Staelens                     David Bennett

Neil McLean                         Stuart Goodrich

Charles Barnes                     Brian Shepard

Thomas Doyle                      Karen Routson

Ray Robins                          Lloyd Kilbreath


Lions of Michigan Foundation Awards

John S. Noel Fellow

The John S. Noel Fellow is the Lions of Michigan Foundation’s most distinguished form of recognition, and the award is available to recognize an outstanding individual for his or her service to Lions and those in need. The award is available for contributions of $1,000 or more to the Lions of Michigan Foundation.
John S. Noel was a charter member of the Grand Rapids Lions Club in 1919, and he was Michigan’s 1st President of Lions Clubs International in 1923-24. The award is duly named in honor of John S. Noel's accomplishments in advancing the cause of Lionism in Michigan and throughout the world and for his tireless efforts to help people in need.


Hellen Keller Fellowship

The Hellen Keller Fellowship award is available to recognize those that have contributed to issues that relate to sight, hearing and disabilities.  The award is available for contributions of $750 or more to the Lions of Michigan Foundation.  Hellen Keller challenged the Lions in 1925 to "Become Knight of the Blind" that shaped Lions to support Sight and Hearing issues since then.

Ken E. Lautzenheiser Fellow

The Ken E. Lautzenheiser Fellow is available for contributions of $500 or more to the Lions of Michigan Foundation. The award is often used to recognize extraordinary efforts by a Lion or Lioness Club member -
many Clubs and Districts use the award to recognize the Lion and/or Lioness of the year. Ken E. Lautzenheiser was instrumental in organizing the Lions of Michigan Foundation in the early 1980's. He believed there was a definite need in Michigan for an organization that could address the medical needs of individuals that had no insurance and nowhere else to turn. Ken knew that if Lions Clubs combined resources, Lions could have a greater impact on their communities and do more to help people in need.

Lions of Michigan Hall of Fame

The Lions of Michigan Hall of Fame is a project of the Lions of Michigan Foundation. The purpose is to recognize and honor those individuals who have had a significant impact on Lionism in Michigan and to preserve a memory and record of their service. Each year up to four individuals are selected for enshrinement, normally one living member and up to three deceased individuals.
The nomination form for the Hall of Fame can be found HERE.


LCIF Honors

Melvin Jones Fellowship

The Melvin Jones Fellowship (MJF) is LCIF's highest honor, and is a recognition of humanitarian work and is presented in honor of donations made to LCIF in the amount of $1,000. Often these donations are made by a group or district on behalf of an honoree. Created in 1973, the fellowship is named for the founder of Lions Clubs International, Melvin Jones. The fellowship represents humanitarian qualities such as generosity, compassion, and concern for the less fortunate.

Melvin Jones Fellows receive a lapel pin and a personalized wall plaque in honor of their commitment to helping others.


Lions International Awards

International President's Certificate of Appreciation

The International President's Certificate of Appreciation is usually awarded personally by an International Director, after the recipient has been nominated by the District Governor. The award is in recognition of distinguished achievements in fulfilling the service mission of Lions Clubs.  Is the 4th highest LCI award.

International Leadreship Medal

Awarded for outstanding leadership by a Lion on Lions issues or service issues. Nominated by a District Governor.  There are a limited number awarded each year and in each State and is the 3rd highest award from LCI.

International Presidential Award (Service Award)

Awarded for outstanding service by a Lion to the causes or activities Lions are active in.  Nominated by a District Governor.  There are a very limited number awarded each year and is the 2nd highest award from LCI.

Ambassador of Goodwill Award

The Ambassador Award is generally awarded to high level Lions for their many years of service.  There are only a maxium of 35 awarded each year and is the highest award from LCI.

Other International Awards:

100% District Governor
Club President Excellence Award
Extension Award
Guiding Lion Award
Member Key Award
Club Excellence Award

Clubs that excel in community service, membership growth, communication and organizational management may qualify for the prestigious Excellence Awards. Clubs receive a distinguished banner patch to proudly display on their banner and the club president receives a Club Excellence Pin to proudly recognize his or her outstanding leadership. The general criteria for the award include good standing with International, Melvin Jones contributions, membership growth, excellent communication, leadership development, and club development. Please use the qualifications outlined in the club or district application as your road map to excellence.



Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online